Reveal by Brina Courtney

13065962

Author:  Brina Courtney

Published:  12/16/11

Pages:  220

Genre:  YA Fantasy/Paranormal

Series:  Cryptid Tales #1

The Gist:

Shay could be the key to ending a war that humans don’t know exist. Of a race of beings that aren’t real, or are they?

Shay Tafford’s childhood has been fatherless, filled instead with memories of speaking to the dead. She is forced to hide her unique ability from those living around her. That’s why it’s been comforting to have Jeremy, a child ghost, as her confidante. But recently he’s been absent, perhaps lost as her father is. When Shay meets Hugh, the guy she’s had a crush on for weeks, and finds he can speak to ghosts too she’s just starting to find a normalcy in her life.
But as Hugh reveals the truth to Shay, about who she really is and about what it is she can do, he erases all chances she had at a normal existence. Turns out talking to ghosts is just scratching the surface of her genetically engineered gifts. Shay learns she may be part of an age old prophecy that could save the entire race of cryptids. But can she?

My Take:

I needed a book about ghosts to try and fill a category on one of my Goodreads group’s challenges and I found this book on Netgally. I was intrigued by the premise that it was about a girl that could speak to ghosts, so I took a chance.

I was very much surprised by this book.  I did not expect the twists as Shay’s abilities were uncovered.  It is so much more than just a typical ghost story.  I was a little bored with the fast developing romance, but only because I wanted to learn more about Shay and her powers, the evil Malsumis and the history around what Shay and those like her truly are.

It is a great first book in the series and makes me eager to read what comes next.  I love that Ms. Courtney found inspiration from the “Chupacabra” episode of Bones.  I am also inspired by the promises she made to herself when writing (you can check them out here http://www.brinacourtney.com/2011/10/promises-i-made.html  I especially like #4).  Capture is the second book in the Cryptid Tales series and currently available. 

Looking forward to seeing you between the pages of the next book!

 

Leave a Reply

